Wednesday, May 21, 2008

Ireland's Turkey Misses Out

Ireland will not appear in this year's Eurovision Song Contest final after its entrant, Dustin the Turkey, failed to qualify from the first semi-final. The glove puppet was not among the 10 successful countries, which included Greece, Romania, Armenia, Finland, Israel, Poland, Russia and Bosnia.

Norway also succeeded, along with Azerbaijan in its Eurovision debut.

A second semi-final on Thursday will determine another 10 countries to proceed to Saturday's final in Serbia.

The line-up will include Sweden's former winner Charlotte Perrelli, who emerged as the favourite in a Europe-wide vote of fans carried out by the BBC News website.

No comments: